Information supplied by Bruce Salisbury

1997 saw the departure of long time club stalwart and Coach Laurie Edmondstone and the tragic death of well-liked clubman Geoff “Swaggy” Wilson.

The club took out the Open and Vet titles at the Coburg 24 hour relay.

1998 saw the official opening of the current Clubrooms at the Westend Sporting Complex and club member Sandra Timmer-Arends representing Australia at the World 100k Championships.

1999 saw the emergence of the Maltese Falcon in the Newsletter bringing advice and gossip to the members that was gleamed from conversations on long Sunday morning training runs that were popular with club members at that time.

2000 saw the club win three Athletics Victoria Pennants and some debate within the club as the other Clubs that made up the Latrobe Valley Region struggled with member numbers and put forward a proposal to run as one entity at AV events.

Traralgon Harriers hosted LV Championship events excepted Mal Hill 16k (Morwell), Springfield Park 8k and 4k CC (Warragul) and Live Wire 5k Relay (Yallourn/Newborough).

With the demise of Morwell Club and due to ill health of Warragul’s Ron Lucardie the club took on both the Mal Hill 16k (but had to rename it the Ray and Doris Ellis 16km run) and with Ron’s permission revived the Springfield Park run making it 8k and 4k CC and moving it to Crinigan Road Reserve Morwell in 2004.  Ron had a property in Lardner called Springfield Park which the run was named after.  He was a local athlete and official who was also a life member of Athletics Victoria.

Also around 2004 the Traralgon Harriers took full responsibility from the Yallourn/Newborough Club to run the Edward Hunter run and change the course to a 12k and 8k CC, but kept the venue of the Edward Hunter Reserve Moe, thus allowing athletes to enjoy a variety of events in our local area.  These runs were brought under the Traralgon Harriers umbrella thanks to work of Bruce Salisbury.  The Live Wire disappeared with the end of Yallourn/Newborough club as this left only Traralgon Harriers.  About this time there was a steady increase in female membership peaking about 2006 with a good 3rd of membership being Female.

The club elected its 2nd female president, Carol Summersgill, at this time.  The club had some good people around at this time who were prepared to put in for the club.  Runners who stood out at this time were Ian Cornthwaite, John Mackenzie, Paul Wilson, Rod Goodwin, Steve Quirk, Sandra Timmer-Arends, Birgit Schukman, Susie Huels/Wilson and juniors Melissa Jones, Peta Mullins, Matt Mullins, Sam Quirk, Ben Quirk, Tim Cochrane, Adam Conway, Brett Van Der Velden, Steve Beckman, Michael Lancaster.

Sign Up to our Newsletter

Stay up to date with all upcoming events,
news and interesting topics.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.