01/12/2016 Edward Hunter Reserve 5km


Edward Hunter Reserve 5km

 The Traralgon Harriers weekly run took off in the bush surroundings of the Edward Hunter Reserve located in Moe. With the first day of December and therefore, the first day of summer being upon us, we couldn’t have asked for betting conditions. A warm temperature of around 24 degrees and a slight breeze made it perfect running conditions, despite the effort and sweat required to conquer the bush trails and hills which made it a little warm for some. The two-looped 5km course welcomed 24 runners in total, with another 2 conquering one loop (2.7km), 3 walkers and our one and only junior Nicholas Kraft-Murat who ran 1.4km.

The first three home on handicap for the night were Warren Shields 24:09, Molly Irvine 21:54 and Georgia Pearson 24:46 who all continue to show improvements in their running and this shows as their times are decreasing with each and every week.

It was a close battle between the two fastest runners of the night with harriers legend Ian “Corny” Cornthwaite taking the victory in a time of 21:31 over Des Paynter who was only a mere 2 seconds behind in 21:33. Third fastest for the males was Steve McLeod who was also very close behind in a finishing time of 21:55.

For the females it was Molly Irvine in first in a time of 21:54 who clocked the third quickest time for the night, second was Georgia Pearson in 24:46, and third belonged to Jenny Northe who completed the 5km course in another superb time of 25:54.

For the juniors, it was Nicholas Kraft-Murat who completed the 1.4km junior run in a great time of 9:48.

Next week’s run is the Railway Reserve 6km course, which starts at the Traralgon railway reserve located on Hickox Street, Traralgon. The run begins at 6pm but please arrive at 5.50pm to sign in with our volunteers. The Harriers welcomes all runners of all abilities and further details about the club can be found on our website www.traralgonharriers.org.au

Results – 5km
Warren Shields 0:24:09
Molly Irvine 0:21:54
Georgia Pearson 0:24:46
Steve McLeod 0:21:55
Tim Buckley 0:29:17
Ian Cornthwaite 0:21:31
Des Paynter 0:21:33
Liz Kenney 0:26:36
Jenny Northe 0:25:54
Tylah Whitehead 0:28:01
Diana Van Rhine 0:31:27
Kayla Gallert 0:26:32
David Mann 0:29:48
Gary Fox 0:26:49
Edi Murat 0:25:55
Georgia Callaway 0:31:40
Ann Boers 0:39:49
Barry Higgins 0:35:15
Jason Collier 0:41:14
Tania Whitehead 0:31:47
Bob Duljas 0:34:53
Helen Reeves 0:43:11
Rick Mann 0:41:23
Phill Mayer 0:34:22
Intermediate 2.7 Km
Barry Summersgill 0:23:26
Bruce Salisbury 0:23:30
Walkers – ????KM
Denise Twite 0:42:40
Mel Jones 0:42:40
Alison Whiter N/A
Juniors  1.4 KM
Nicolas Krafft-Murat 0:09:58