17/08/2017 Smith St/Park Lane 5km

Smith St/Park Lane 5km Results –


This week’s run was a cold, wet and windy one to say the least. Mother Nature turned on the waterworks as 23 runners and walkers tackled the elements in 3 laps around Park Lane, Morgan Drive and Strathcole Drive in Traralgon. With the rain coming down hard, there was no doubt that people ran just that little bit faster to get out of the weather!

The handicap competition on the night was won by Sandra Byrne (26:27) for the ladies and Tim Buckley (28:36) for the men. Second and third place for the ladies were Teresa Dixon (25:09) and Angeline Diamente (27:07) respectively. For the men, it was Bob Bickett in second (29:42) and third in the handicap Andrew Legge (24:54).

Ian ‘Corny’ Cornthwaite shows no signs of slowing down, completing the 3 laps in 21:08 and taking out the fastest male outright time for the night, in second place was Andrew Legge (24:54), and not too far behind was Edi Murat (25:27).

Teresa Dixon was the fastest outright female for the night, recording a great time of 25:09. Melissa Jones was the second fastest (25:37), and only a minute behind was Michelle Sawyer (26:26) recording the third fastest time for the women.

While 19 people completed the 5km 3-lap course, we also had Mel Riddle run the 3.4km course in a time of 25:59, and for the 1.7km event it was youngster Nicholas Kraft-Murat finishing in 11:15, followed by Kathy Quinn and Debbie Henry in times of 17:50 and 17:51 respectively. It was fantastic to see everyone cheery and happy despite the wet weather. Thanks to our volunteers, Darrel Cross, Pete Sanders and Michelle Colwell who braved the rain so that the run could happen.

Next week will be held at Independent Way in Traralgon at 5.50pm, and don’t forget the monthly club dinner in the clubrooms after the run.


Name Time
Ian Cornthwaite  21:08
drew Legge  24:54
Teresa Dixon  25:09
Edi Murat  25:27
Melissa Jones  25:37
Michelle Sawyer  26:26
Sandra Byrne  26:27
Angeline Diamente  27:07
Georgia Callaway  28:17
Tim Buckley  28:36
Sandra Timmer-Arends  29:32
Bob Bickett  29:42
Allan Timmer-Arends  29:43
Bob Duljas  30:41
Michael Walker  32:03
Phill Mayer  32:05
Ian Heafield  32:20
Mandy Ellis  33:42
Dani Thompson  35:46


Name Time
Mel Riddle 25.59


Name Time
Nicholas Kraft-Murat 11.15
Kathy Quinn 17:50
Debbie Henry 17:51