17/11/2016 Crinigan Rd 5km



Set amongst the trees of the scenic but hilly Crinigan Road Bushland Reserve, last Thursday’s 5km handicap race over winding, criss-crossing trails and held in summery conditions was a winner. The route was twiddled a bit  and well-marked to create an exhilarating single circuit of 5km, rather than the usual 6km two lapper but still, despite plentiful bright pink direction arrows (blue for the 3km), mild confusion reigned at some of the intersections, creating an unusual results list.

A total of forty two runners and walkers took part in the events, with the 5km handicap being lead home by:  Michelle Sawyer, first  – 24:10; Warren Shields, second  – 24:32 and Simone Forbes, third – 24:50.

Michelle Sawyer’s finishing time looks vastly quicker than her typical speed and so she is either running fantastically well or got mixed up in the course confusion.

Warren Shields, having regained much of his old form, is running strongly and this week came out ahead of his traditional rival, Simone Forbes, who has been placing reliably in the top five finishers for some weeks.

The Harriers welcomed two new participants to their event: Steve Reside and Tim Fleay. Steve finished in fourth position in the handicap, whilst Tim Fleay finished with the tenth fastest time overall – both strong efforts.

This Thursday’s (24/11/2016) event is the Traralgon Glenview Park Race Course 5km handicap, just off McNairn Road, at 6:00 pm. The intermediate race is 3km and the junior event is 1km. Registrations for the races are at 5:30 pm.

The public is encouraged to join in.



Michelle Sawyer  24:10
Warren Shields  24:32
Simone Forbes  24:50
Steve Reside  29:00
Belinda Heafield  31:29
Ian Cornthwaite  21:00
Peter Grixti  32:00
Darrel Cross  24:28
Kayla Gallert  25:35
Lance Thomas  25:38
Glenn Graham  22:40
Steve McLeod  22:48
Georgia Pearson  25:52
Edi Murat  25:14
Tim Fleay  25:47
Gary Fox  27:10
Diana Van Rhine  32:22
Tylah Whitehead  29:43
Karen Graham  26:46
Cheryl Thomas  29:49
Kaye Livingstone  31:28
Pete Sanders  26:30
Ian Heafield  35:39
Tanis Whitehead  29:40
Ann Bomers  40:47
David Mann  33:17
Barry Higgins  36:26
Phil Mayer  31:40
Helen Whitby  37:02
Sue Elsdon
Liz Kenney
3 KM:
Georgia Callaway  21:50
Kathy Quinn  29:39
Debbie Henry  29:40
Bruce Salisbury  26:35
Ben Bailey  23:16
Hunter Bailey  23:14
Ray Ellis  31:06
Barry Summersgill  26:36.
2 KM:
Becky Matthews  16:04
Cassie Matthews 16:04
1 KM:
Ameli Krafft-Murat  8:05