20/04/2017 Newborough Track

Newborough Track 2000m and 5000m Championships

Race number two of the Traralgon Harriers Winter Season was held last Thursday night at the Joe Carmody Athletics Track in Newborough. Thirty-three keen runners turned up to give the track a go, a welcome change from the trails and bitumen runs of late.  Running on the track allows for a soft, flat and fast run, providing many benefits to a runner’s technique and recovery, as club champion Twitey always says!

The 5000m event was divided into two races, firstly those who usually run a sub 22 minute 5km, and the second event for those running 22 minutes or longer. In group 1, Mark Rossiter took line honours for the men’s in an impressive time of 18:30, second place was Glenn Graham, 18:45, and in third came Tony Arrowsmith, 19:06. For the ladies, Sarah Lewis finished first in 19:09, followed by Karen Graham, 21:11, and then it was Simone Forbes finishing third, 22:01.

Group 2 also showed some exciting competition with only 24 seconds between first, second and third place in the women’s event. It was Liz Kenny in first place (23:03), Melissa Jones in second (23:23) and third place to Kayla Gallert (23:27). For the men’s trophy, Edi Murat came in first, with a speedy time of 20:57, followed by Andrew Legge, 22:29 and Jason Irvine, 24:08.

In the 2000m event, some of the club’s junior runners displayed some fantastic running. Hunter Bailey crossed the line first in 09:46 and his sister Jemma finished in 12:05. Another brother and sister duo, Nicholas and Ameli Kraft-Murat ran times of 12:27 and 15:07 respectively. Its great to see these youngsters following in the footsteps of their runner parents! Also competing in the 2000m event were Dianna Van Rhine (09:50) and Cintia Mateo (10:30) who both performed well over the 5 laps.

This week we head back to Traralgon for a 6km run around Meadow Park Drive, also on the night, a 2.4km and 1.2km run, perfect for juniors, those new to running, returning from injury or just wanting to enjoy a shorter course. The run starts at 5:50pm, so please arrive earlier to sign in.

Winter Run       No 2  Newborough Track     5000 metres
Run Finish Position Name  Actual Time on clock Handicap

Group 1 Name Time
Mark Rossiter  0:18:30
Glenn Graham  0:18:45
Tony Arrowsmith  0:19:06
Sarah Lewis  0:19:09
Darrell Cross  0:19:18
Bryan Cake  0:19:31
Steve McLeod  0:19:36
Simon Forbes  0:19:49
Pete Sanders  0:20:30
Karen Graham  0:21:11
Brad Harken  0:21:36
Warren Shields  0:21:44
Simone Forbes  0:22:01
Group 2 Name Time
Edi Murat  0:20:57
Andrew Legge  0:22:29
Liz Kenny  0:23:03
Melissa Jones  0:23:23
Kayla Gallert  0:23:27
Heather Farley  0:23:33
Teresa Dixon  0:23:58
Jason Irvine  0:24:08
Michell Sawyer  0:24:23
Tim Buckley  0:24:56
Bob Duljas  0:28:56
Mandy Ellis  0:29:44
Ann Bomers  0:32:08
Ray Ellis  0:42:12
2000 Metres Name Time
Hunter Bailey  0:09:46
Dianna Van Rhine  0:09:50
Cintia Mateo  0:10:30
Jemma Bailey  0:12:05
Nicolas Kraft- Murat  0:12:27
Ameli Kraft- Murat  0:15:07