24/11/2016 Glenview Park Racecourse


Claire Gibson, a newcomer to the Traralgon Harriers’ Thursday race, took out the 5km handicap event off a 3 minute handicap and in a satisfying 28 minute 12 second effort.

The Traralgon Racecourse 5km route involved a single, though convoluted circuit through the gently undulating south-eastern suburbs.

Second and off a 10 minute handicap was Simone Forbes in the fifth fastest time outright, 22:05. Simone was also the second quickest female.

Belinda Heafield , reaping the benefits of improved running form and posture after a successful foot operation, has been reducing her times consistently and took out third position in a strong personal performance of 28:14.

Emma Marino was welcomed back to the club after a break and finished the race in just over 31 minutes.

The quickest runners outright in the female and male categories included: Ian Cornthwaite, 19:17, Molly Irvine, 20:03, Glenn Crawford, 20:26, Biasi Silvestro , 20:43, Simone Forbes, 22:05 and Kayla Gallert, 22:17.

Biasi Silvestro’s improved time suggests he is on the comeback trail, whilst Molly Irvine is continuing on her quest to being the quickest Thursday participant at the club.

This Thursday’s (1/12/2016) event is the Edward Hunter Reserve, Moe 5km off Coalville Road and staged on superb walking trails amongst native bushland. There will also be an intermediate race of 2.7km and a junior event of 1.4km available. Race starting time is 6.00 pm.


Claire Gibson  28:12
Simone Forbes  22:05
Belinda Heafield  28:14
Warren Shields  22:27
Biasi Silvestro  20:43
David Mann  24:45
Tylah Whitehead  23:59
Molly Irvine  20:03
Tim Buckley  26:08
Ian Heafield  29:10
Andrew Legge  22:14
Kayla Gallert  22:17
Glenn Crawford  20:26
Kathryn Preston (and Matais)  25:32
Chris Vallak  23:49
Bob Bickett  27:51
Georgia Pearson  23:05
Ian Cornthwaite  19:17
Gary Fox  23:18
Jenny Northe  23:21
Tania Whitehead  24:49
Michelle Colwell  31:00
Anne Bomers  35:02
Georgia Callaway  28:10
Helen Reeves  35:11
Peter Grixti  31:15
Kaye Livingstone  27:23
Lynda Jones  32:28
Owen Notting  24:30
Edi Murat  24:07
Bob Duljas  29:21
Barry Higgins  31:21
Emma Marino  31:21
Diana Van Rhine  31:24
Sue Elsdon  27:24
Michelle Sawyer  28:33
Phil Mayer  27:34
Debbie Henry  38:49
Mick Bridle  42:58