28/04/2016- Track Championships 2000m & 5000m

Traralgon Harriers Race Report 28/4/16

2000m and 5000m Track Championships – Newborough Athletics Track

Thursday night’s run was the Newborough Track Championships, consisting of a 2000m junior event and a 5000m open event. While track running may be unfamiliar to some, the opportunity to try the synthetic surface drew 35 runners of all ages and abilities.

Running on the rubber surface proved to be quite different to our usual road or trail runs, however the flat, uninterrupted course of 5 laps for the 2000m event and 12.5 for the 5000m meant runners recorded some impressive times. The thing about track running is that runners are able to maintain a consistent speed from having constant contact with everyone else’s position around the track.

The junior run for the boys was taken out by Michael Tripodi in an incredible time of 6 minutes 55 seconds. Jack Murray finished in 8 minutes flat and was closely followed by Marlon Mifsud only 18 seconds behind in third place. For the girls, it was Arlia Whitehead finishing first, 8:45, second place to Emily Murray, 10:40 and in third place, Cassie Mathews 12:08.

The 5000m event was divided into two categories based on runners’ average 5km time with ‘under 22 minute’ runners competing in A grade and ‘over 22 minute’ runners competing in B grade.

For the men, the A grade run was won by Glen Graham, blitzing the field of 11 competitors in 18 minutes 28 seconds. In second place was Bryan Cake, crossing the line with a time of 19:11, and in third place was Simon Forbes, 19:28.

Sarah Lewis, who has come from South Coast Athletics to run with the Harriers for the AV Season, won the A grade ladies in a time of 20:25. Second place was Karen Graham, 21:09 and in third place was Jenny Northe, 21:55.

Andrew Legge showed great speed and form, winning the B grade run in a time of 21:23. Narrowly behind Andrew was Brad Harkin in 21:43 and finishing third was Phil Mayer with a time of 22:22. For the girls, it was track star Georgia Pearson finishing first with a time of 22:38, one minute ahead of Tania Whitehead, who finished second with 23:37. In third place for the women, another minute behind, was Georgia Callaway, 24:37.

The next run will be held at the corner of Whittakers Road and Hewitt Street, Traralgon (please note the change of venue, no longer Meadow Park Drive) on Thursday May 5th starting at 5.50pm.

Traralgon Harriers is a running club for everyone and new members are always welcome. Visit www.traralgonharriers.org.au for more information.

A Grade  
Name Time
Glen Graham 0.769444
Bryan Cake 0.799306
Simon Forbes 0.811111
Steve McLeod 0.834722
Darrell Cross 0.845139
Sarah Lewis 0.850694
Pete Sanders 0.853472
Tony Arrowsmith 0.875
Karen Graham 0.88125
Edi Murat 0.900694
Jenny Northe 0.913194
B Grade  
Name Time
Andrew Legge 0.890972
Brad Harkin 0.904861
Phil Mayer 0.931944
Georgia Pearson 0.943056
Chris Vallak 0.954861
Tania Whitehead 0.984028
Georgia Callaway 1.541667
Michelle Sawyer 1.833333
Helen Whitby 1.127778
Bob Duljas 1.166667
Barry Higgins 1.170139
Michelle Colwell 1.041667
Becky Mathews 1.5